Coming back around…

24 Sep

Well, after entirely too long (for the sake of this project at least) I have finally emerged from the woods back into the land of cellphones and wireless internet.  I’ve been doing a lot of work on Habermas and the development of the ‘analog’ Western public sphere.  Since KONY we have seen myriad other examples of the growing importance of social media as an element of electronic media (particularly in light of the upcoming US election), and the impact it is having on global consciousness and massive demonstrations around the world.  I’ve much to do, and will be writing more intensely in the coming week, but after a summer of consideration I believe that my work is going to expand beyond KONY2012 to other case studies and a broader theoretical framework, with attempts to reconcile theories on identity and collective action in the analog era with a new form of diffusing information, devoid of the time and space that has historically kept areas around the globe from connecting with and understanding one another.

The site has just under 6,000 hits of which only about 1/3 are American, while visitors have made their way to the site from nearly one hundred other nations.  It now shows up regularly on google, which apparently uses traffic density as a means to determine which sites best fit certain searches.  This hands on research is teaching me a good deal about time/space compression and amazes me as I sit here in Vermont, US knowing that these words will be read all over the world.  In the last week I have had visitors (mainly through searches) from places such as Indonesia, Spain, Kenya, and the Russian Federation, as well as others.

Geographic map of hits for the blog, supporting the idea that the world is growing ever smaller and that this may allow national differences to be set aside in favor of over-arching humanistic ideals:

Density not accounted for

Basic geographic data, please inquire for numeric details though they are likely forthcoming anyways.

An alternative way to view the cyber geography of this project.

4 Responses to “Coming back around…”

  1. Ralf July 12, 2013 at 7:22 AM #

    Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website?
    I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  2. Piles Remedy April 20, 2013 at 5:32 AM #

    Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and
    you are just too fantastic. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart. I can’t wait to read far
    more from you. This is really a wonderful site.

  3. Law enforcement Girls April 8, 2013 at 7:03 AM #

    Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let me know where you got your design.
    Appreciate it

Leave a Reply

